Alvin H. Crawford Mentoring Award

The Alvin H. Crawford Mentoring Award is presented to those who embody the characteristics of Dr. Alvin H. Crawford; a distinguished orthopaedic surgeon, seasoned clinician, dedicated teacher and devoted scientist. For many years Dr. Crawford tirelessly guided students, residents and fellows on the road to careers as successful orthopaedic surgeons. Each year, JRGOS honors a surgeon who has supported and guided an individual in the same remarkable way as Dr. Crawford.

2024 Nominations will be accepted beginning: September 1, 2023




Past Recipients of the Alvin H. Crawford Mentoring Award:

2023 – Randall C. Morgan Jr., MD, MBA, FAAOS

2022 – Letitia Bradford, MD, FAAOS, FACS

2020  Augustus White, MD, PhD

2019  Valerae O. Lewis, MD

2018  Eric W. Carson, MD

2017 – Bonnie Simpson-Mason, MD

2016 – Robert H. Wilson, MD

2015 – Raymond O. Pierce Jr., MD

2014 – Toni McLaurin, MD

2013 – Clarence L. Shields Jr., MD

2012 – Cato T. Laurencin, MD

2011 – Anthony T. Fenison, MD

2010 – George V. Russell, Jr., MD

2009 – Richard E. Grant, MD

2008 – Eleby R. Washington, MD

2007 – Felasfa M. Wodajo, MD

2006 – William T. Long, MD

2005 – Charles H. Epps, MD

2004 – Claudia L. Thomas, MD

2001 – Larry T. Johnson, MD and Charles D. Mitchell, MD